search for books
Home About Us Our Books Book Reviews Events Submissions Careers Contact Us Sitemap

About Us
The Upper Room
Our Mission

New Day Publishers is a not-for-profit publishing house that aims to strengthen the life and witness of the church through the publication and distribution of books that are culturally relevant and people-empowering. New Day believes in the talent and mind of the Filipino and supports it by publishing their notable works..

Our History

In 1967, Mrs. Fern Grant, an American missionary serving as a secretary for literature to the United Church of Christ in the Philippines (UCCP), observed that Christian Churches lacked locally produced resource materials. She expressed this concern to the leaders of Churches affiliated with the National Council of Churches in the Philippines (NCCP) she worked closely with and, as a result, six Consultations on Christian Literature were held from May 1968 to February 1969.

After seeking the ideas of area secretaries of Church agencies in Europe and the United States about the formation of and support for a Christian Literature Society through Mrs. Grant, the Church representatives organized the Christian Literature Society of the Philippines (CLSP), a non-stock, a nonprofit, ecumenical society that carries the trade name New Day Publishers in its publications. The representatives drafted the CLSP incorporation documents, which were signed on 18 August 1969, and eventually registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

The representatives of the founding members of CLSP at that time were: Dr. Gerald Anderson (Union Theological Seminary), Rev. George Castro (Iglesia Evangelica Metodista en Las Islas Filipinas), Rev. Samuel Catli (NCCP), Bishop Onofre Fonceca (UCCP), Rev. Ralph George (Convention of Philippine Episcopal Church), Mr. Eulalio Maturan (Silliman University), Rev. LaVerne Mercado (The United Methodist Church), Rev. Donald Morthole (Lutheran Church in the Philippines), Fr. Dionicio Vilches (Philippine Independent Church), Fr. Artemio Zabala (St. Andrew's Theological Seminary), Mr. Restituto Gatmaitan (Literature Center, LCP), Mrs. Fern Grant (UCCP), Mr. Fiorello Rifareal (UMC Bookroom), and Dr. Edith Tiempo (SU).

Three founding members have withdrawn their membership, but four have taken their place. To date, CLSP's membership roll includes: Asian Institute for Liturgy and Music (AILM), Association of Christian Schools and Colleges (ACSC), Central Philippine University, Convention of Philippine Baptist Churches (CPBC), Iglesia Evangelica Metodista en Las Islas Filipinas (IEMELIF), National Council of Churches in the Philippines (NCCP), Philippine Christian University, The Episcopal Church of the Philippines, Iglesia Filipina Independiente (IFI), St. Andrew's Theological Seminary, Silliman University (SU), Trinity College of Quezon City, United Church of Christ in the Philippines (UCCP), United Methodist Church (UMC), and Union Theological Seminary.

As local churches strengthened their publications departments or units, and started publishing their own materials, New Day found a new niche in Filipiniana publishing, focusing on books that speak about the Philippines, its culture, history, politics and governance, literature, for example, and books written by local writers. Some of these works won awards from the Catholic Mass Media and the Manila Critics Circle.